The Monaco E-Prix has a habit of standing out as a landmark round of FIA Formula E Championship. Over and above the close ties the Principality has long enjoyed with world-class motorsport, it was the first European venue to host a round of the newly-created all-electric racing series on May 9, 2015, a race that will be remembered for the seven-car collision that occurred first time through Turn 1.


The e-prix was ultimately won by Sébastien Buemi in the colours of Renault-e.dams. Having previously taken the spoils in Punta de l’Este, Uruguay, the Swiss became the first driver to notch up two Formula E victories. Meanwhile, passionate spectators have been part of the Monaco experience from the start, attracting a turnout of around 17,000 for all the e-prix it has hosted to date. The support for the championship of S.A.S Prince Albert II of Monaco, along with his efforts to promote sustainable development and protection of the environment, are other factors that have influenced the staging of Formula E action in the Principality.

Subscribe to our newsletter